Baby, it’s cold outside!

Well, after an extremely chaotic month in which I had no internet other than on my phone, I’m back, broadcasting now from my new home for the next few years- Fairbanks, Alaska! I’ve only been here a few days and so far I like it- though I haven’t left my house in 2 days. Hey, I’m unpacking, cut me some slack!! 🙂 So far, the biggest differences I’ve noticed around here are:

1. It’s obviously pretty cold. And white. However, it is pretty strange to hear someone say “it’s almost warm enough to snow” because it generally doesn’t snow once it gets below a certain temperature. Speaking of the snow, if you’re a friend on facebook you’ll already know, I geeked out the other night at Walmart when I saw some snowflakes on my truck’s window that actually looked like a snowflake!

2. The birds. Back home we have a bird called a crow. It’s annoying and loud and makes a mess in our trash, but I have never been more than annoyed by them. Up here they have “WHAT IN THE WORLD WAS THAT!” crows. I’m talking Schwartzebirdie. Like a normal crow bred with an eagle. I’m not even kidding I saw one probably as tall as a beagle or cocker spaniel- walking on a pile of snow in the parking lot at Fred Meyer’s- and stick his head into the snow and pull out a hammer. More like a wooden tinker toy mallet, but still. Now I’m starting to believe my husband when he told me that gigantor sized bird poo on the side of the house came from a crow. Big as my hand, maybe bigger (haven’t stuck my hand out there to compare).

3. The last difference I’ll post about today- everyone here is SO NICE! Coming from El Paso, I’m always on the defensive and waiting for someone to be rude- but here that just doesn’t happen! I have been completely shocked by how nice people are. Not just polite but stopping you in a parking lot to have a conversation- people you haven’t ever seen before in your life. My husband now knows pretty much the whole life story of our mailman.  I am really liking it here.

Even though it’s cold.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment